Friday, June 11, 2010

Life in Defiance

While continuing to play the role of dutiful small town pastor’s wife, Ousie Pepper is consumed with secrets:
She hides bruises inflicted by her husband and the truth that he also abuses their children
She drinks
She knows who killed Daisy Chance

But she’s not telling.

As Hap’s rages grow more violent Ousie devotes herself to the study of a book on how to be a Godly wife. If she can become the woman that Hap needs then maybe she can stop his abuse, along with her need to numb the pain with the vodka she hides in a flower vase. But the transformation of Daisy’s mother, the protective kindness of a neighbor, and the appearances of a strange drifter named Elijah seem to be contradicting author Sheba Nelson’s messages of submission and secrets. Can she find the courage to speak the truth and find safety or will she be silenced for good by Hap?

Life in Defiance is Book Three in Mary DeMuth’s Defiance Texas Trilogy. Mary does an amazing job of weaving Ousie’s journey with the continuing mystery of Daisy Chance’s murder. While the abuse that takes place in the Pepper household and Sheba Nelson’s advice to Ousie is hard to take at times, the novel in no way suggests that a Christian woman should put up with abuse. In fact, the warped messages drive home Ousie’s need to escape. We see a strong faithful woman battling fears, a painful background, desire to obey God, love for her children, and an ache for change. Rather than reading as a novel about domestic violence, or even a murder mystery, Life in Defiance is a story of courage, closure, and forgiveness.

Mary DeMuth is an author with a uniquely beautiful style and voice who writes with raw honesty. I've grown to love Ousie, Emory, Daisy, Jed, Sissy and the other residence of Defiance (all except Hap--I still don't like him). I'll definitely miss them now that the series has come to an end.

Here is a little about Mary:
Author and speaker Mary DeMuth helps people turn their trials to triumph. Her books include Ordinary Mom, Extraordinary God; Building the Christian Family You Never Had; Watching the Tree Limbs; Wishing on Dandelions; Authentic Parenting in a Postmodern Culture and the first two books in the Defiance, Texas Trilogy: Daisy Chain and A Slow Burn.

National media regularly seek Mary’s candid ability to connect with their listeners. Her radio appearances include FamilyLife Today, Moody Midday Connection, Point of View and U.S.A. Radio Network and is frequently featured on Chuck Colson’s BreakPoint. She has published articles in In Touch, HomeLife, Writer’s Digest and The Writer.

Mary lives with her husband Patrick and their three children in Texas.

Visit Mary’s website

Follow her on her blog

Find Life in Defiance on Amazon

If you missed the first two books in the Defiance Texas Trilogy, you’ll want to read:

Daisy Chain
A Slow Burn

Thank you to Zondervan for providing me with a copy of Life in Defiance to review.


Post a Comment

<< Home